hearingnseeing

Hearing and seeing God in everyday life

The, er, beauty of peacocks.

Sure, we all know peacocks are pretty birds, particularly the guys who love to strut their beauty.  But let them open their beaks, and — wow.  Have you heard that noise before??  My folks had neighbors who had peacocks.  It’s quite distinguishable.

My bedroom is on the second floor.  I miss most of the road noise from my open windows.  What filters towards me is the pre-dawn world awakeners.  In the summertime, I like to just listen to their happy chirpy chatter and don’t even want to hit “snooze.” But down the road is a farm with peacocks – they must be a good half-mile away.  One particular morning, the wind must have been blowing just right to bring me both the lovely sounds of the morning birds, and the, well, something like a loud miscues of a junior high blatty clarinet player.  It was indeed a harmonious chorus broken up with the whine of the peacock’s “meeeoooowww” thrown in . . . repeatedly.  I really would have prefered he be shut in the barn.  He may be a pretty bird, but singin’ ain’t his thang!

I suppose he doesn’t know that though.  He’s just happy to be praising his Maker with what was given him.  Some may see his feathers as the way to be proud as a peacock.  We have all been given something of unique beauty whether our looks, our voice, our ability to work, make money, whatever.  And we all have characteristics on the other side of the scale – those things that make others around us cringe.  But you know, the Lord God made it all, and all for his glory, be it beauty or bawling or both.   So whatever it is to God gave you to praise with, OUT WITH IT!

Luke 19:39-40  Some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to Jesus, “Teacher, rebuke your disciples!”  “I tell you, ” he [Jesus] replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”

6 Comments»

  motmob wrote @

this post made me smile… i love to sing, and I know I stink.. once, my kids asked me to not sing so loud in church – ha! I let it get to me for a while, and tried to tune it down, but I just love it too much to stifle it…. 🙂 to God be the Glory! 😀

Like

  hearingnseeing wrote @

Thanks for the comment! Sing, sing, sing! Besides, our kids have to have something to remember us by and laugh at in the future! 🙂

Like

  An Award « Really… wrote @

[…] sound is not.  The post was sweet and simple, and connected to faith.  You can read it yourself here.  It got me thinking about my sound.  It’s not that beautiful either… It’s one of the […]

Like

  motmob wrote @

I have nominated you for the Liebster Blog award…:) you can read about it on my blog.. that I linked yours to…:) http://motmob.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/an-award/
happy Friday!

Like

  hearingnseeing wrote @

Thanks – and I did read it on your blog!

Like

  An Award | Really Jennifer wrote @

[…] sound is not.  The post was sweet and simple, and connected to faith.  You can read it yourself here.  It got me thinking about my sound.  It’s not that beautiful either… It’s one of the […]

Like


Leave a Reply

